Ramblings of a 38 year-old, married, father of two

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Parenthood and Germs, a Hypochondriac's Tale

P90X - Day 27.  More on that another time.

Disclaimer - This blog is meant to be entertaining and is not meant to offend or degrade anyone who suffers from severe (or actual) hypochondria or germaphobia.

My parents have been telling me (and anyone else that would listen) for years that I have always been a bit of a hypochondriac, especially as a child.  It's not that I always thought I was sick, or had some horrible disease (although that probably did happen from time to time).  It's more that I tended to exhibit a great deal of anxiety over the possibility of getting sick.  I'm sure compared to people with "real" hypochondria or germaphobia my anxiety was minor, but as a child it felt real and overwhelming at times.  I can remember other students telling stories of being sick or having to go to the hospital, and by the time I got home from school I'd be almost in tears because I was afraid of the same thing happening to me.

As I got older I kind of grew out of those overwhelming periods of anxiety.  While it's always been there, I could deal with it ok, and the anxiety tended to morph into anger....anger if someone showed up to school or to work with the flu, or the dreaded stomach virus (the stomach virus being the queen mother of all of my germ-related fears).  Anyway, I pretty much got a handle on things......

Then the children came.  First my son then my daughter.  And all the old anxiety came flooding back.  There's nothing worse (excluding tragic events of course) than having sick kids.  My son got his first stomach virus at about 6 months, after we took him to a birthday party at a place called "Pump it Up."  You know the type of place.  Lots of blow-up slides and things, with large glorified hamster tunnels, and 50 sweaty, snotty, germ-ridden kids running around like crazy.  It's basically a giant petri dish, with one inept high-school kid with a bottle of blue stuff who's job it is to disinfect the whole place, that is, if he doesn't have his head up his ass the whole time.

That virus made it's way through the whole family and since then we've dealt with all manner of sicknesses (as all parents do), some of which have been strange and worrisome, but luckily minor for the most part.  And the anxiety is back, my constant companion.  Especially this time of year when everyone has a kid with strep throat, the flu, or (oh, dear God, no) a stomach virus.  I use hand sanitizer all day long and try to deal with it, but some days it can be a struggle.  Every time my son says his throat or stomach hurts, or my daughter grabs her ear and cries, or has one of those all-too-common strange and horrible loads in her diaper, I have to fight the urge to freak out a little bit.

My son got an invitation to a birthday party for one of his classmates......at Pump it Up.  We let it come an go with no discussion, and I rationalized it by thinking "he's 3 and he's around these kids all day anyway.  Why does he need to go a birthday party too."  Some of you might think this is horrible, but when I was a kid, I never had big birthday parties.  It was more of a family thing, and I never really missed it and have never understood the obsession with giant birthday parties for little kids.  Plus, there's just no way I'm taking my kids back to that place before I absolutely have to.

I know eventually my kids will get excited about all these parties and I don't want to stunt them emotionally or socially.  I also don't want to impart my anxieties upon them....but honestly, would a little bit of learned germaphobia be a bad thing, really?

As always, to all of you following this blog (both officially - all 3 of you), and unofficially, thanks for reading, and any comments are appreciated.

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Quick Update - first ever attempt at yoga

P90X-Day 10

This will be a very short post, not that I have much to say, but one of my goals, besides getting in shape, was to keep this blog going as well.  The dilemma is that I don't want to write just for the sake of writing.

So far I've completed 10 days of P90X and am really enjoying it.  I'm still constantly sore, but I'm getting used to it.  The most surprising workout so far has been the yoga.  I've never done yoga before, and it's no joke.  The workout itself is difficult, but it's also supposed to be a spiritual sort of workout.....you know, clear your mind, and find your chi.  I've never put a lot of stock into that kind of thing, but I recognize that having a good, clear mind has its merits.  Basically what I discovered during week one is that it's almost impossible to find your chi when you have a dog howling to get inside cause she's cold, and a 3-year old getting out of bed to tell you he has to poop.  Oh well, I'll try again tomorrow

Hopefully I'll have some more to say in a few days.  Thanks for reading.

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

P90X. So Far...So Sore

I just finished day 2 of P90X.  Here's a quick summary:

Day 1. Chest and Back....a series of alternating push ups and pull ups.  It was definitely intense, but not intimidating, as long as you don't try to keep up with the pros on the DVD.  They do sets of 25 or 30, I did sets of 8-10.  Pull-ups...I put one leg on a chair as a support.  Finished up and felt completely exhausted, but good.....until I realized that I also had to do the 15 min. "Ab Ripper."  I won't lie, I was basically a spectator for most of it.  I just really dislike throwing up, and I feel like that was where things were heading.  I actually felt really good today even though I had trouble putting on my shirt or buckling my seat belt.  I know it's a cliche, but it really is a good kind of pain.  That lead us to.....

Day 2.  Plyometrics.  Apparently that means "Jumping Workout."  Bottom line....you do a lot of combination squats and jumps, for about an hour.  I'm pretty sure if there's a hell, there doing pylometrics there.  At least some of the moves had cool names, like the "run squat 180 jump switch" and my favorite, the "double airborne Heisman."  My legs are like jello right now, and I'll probably have trouble getting out of bed in the morning, but so far I'm enjoying it.  Of course, as I mentioned previously, I'm not following every aspect of the program exactly.  For example. after a workout, they recommend the P90X Recovery Drink to refuel, re-energize, and reduce muscle soreness.  My recovery drink this evening is Samuel Adams Winter Lager.  You recover your way, I'll recover my way.

For the record, don't worry, I won't be boring everyone with a 90-day breakdown of my workouts.  My goal will be to update the blog about every week (unless something happens that demands a post), and I'm guessing the P90X will become less and less a part of the content.  There are plenty of other things going on in my life that I know I will want to write about.  For now, thanks for reading, and bring on Day 3.

P.S.  I also donated blood yesterday.  It always makes me feel good, and I would recommend that everyone that is able to donate, should.  It only takes a few minutes and you could help save someone's life.  It doesn't get much better than that.

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Introduction

I'm obviously new to the blog experience, and I'll try to make this intro to the blog as short as possible.  As for the title of the blog, it's simply an homage to one of my favorite movies, The Big Lebowski.  The reasons for starting a blog are a bit more complicated.  I have no delusions of being a good writer, I just don't have the vocabulary for it.  I guess I see the blog as a good outlet for all the things that get compartmentalized and shoved back in my brain because there are always more immediate issues to deal with, like chasing a newly mobile 9-month old around the house making sure she doesn't eat carpet lint, while fielding the unending stream of questions that 3-year olds are so good at.

Additionally, my wife an I have made the decision to get healthier and in better shape.  For those that are facebook friends with both of us, you know that she also started a blog and has been an inspiration for me to do the same.  We started jogging about a month or so ago with the goal of running the Azalea Trail Run, a big annual race here in Mobile that takes place every spring.  The idea is to use the blog primarily as a motivational tool, the idea being that if we publicize our goals, we'll be more likely to accomplish them, since no one like to admit failure to themselves, much less a bunch of other people.

My health goals went to another level when I received the P90X exercise program as a (requested) Christmas gift.  For those not familiar with it, I won't bore you with details, but I'm understating it to say that it is an intensive, 90-day program that I am in NO way ready to begin.  There are aspects of the program that I will not pretend to be able to follow fully (namely the diet plan and supplements), but I'm going to jump in and see how I do, all the while using this blog as a sort of deranged diary of my progress.  My 90-day experiment begins tomorrow at approximately 5 am (unfortunately there's no good time to find an extra hour a day to exercise).

I have no idea how this will go, honestly.  I'm using the P90X as a jumping-off point for the blog and will hopefully include other observations and life lessons as I learn them.  I'm quickly learning that blogs (this one, anyway) are mostly for the writers, but maybe some of you will like what you read enough to check in from time to time.   If so, welcome, and wish me luck.  I need all I can get.